What We Bury (Detective Madison Knight Series Book 10) by Carolyn Arnold {Book Review}

What We Bury is another installment of Carolyn Arnold’s Detective Madison Knight series. Carolyn is one of my top favorite mystery writers with amazing stories and accurate crime stories!

Disclosure: I received this book to review. I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.

What We Bury by Carolyn Arnold {Book Review}She’s dying, and she knows it. If only she can stay alive long enough to leave one last message. As the rain beats against the metal roof, she uses her blood-soaked fingertip to scrawl on the floorboards… The letters GB.

Detective Madison Knight has been house hunting, but a call from her real estate agent has nothing to do with finding the perfect property. She’s found a woman’s body, stabbed multiple times. Madison arrives on scene and is presented with an unknown Jane Doe and two letters written in blood. There’s no murder weapon, and it seems Doe was attacked somewhere else.

As Madison works to find justice for the victim, Madison’s own life is put at risk. What she comes to discover is some people will go to extreme lengths to protect their secrets—even as far as murder. But will learning that lesson come too late for her?

Buy the Book: Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, Barnes and Noble, Google, Kobo, Apple
Add to Goodreads

Madison Knight is a true renaissance woman—sharp, talented, and unbeatable.” – K.J. Howe, bestselling author of Skyjack

Madison is particularly headstrong and gung ho and this makes for exciting fiction…” –Literary Flits

Madison Knight is a tough detective, who will let nothing stand in her way to find the guilty.” –The Reading Café

Madison Knight is an intriguing protagonist. She’s independent, strong, capable, intelligent, and overall, a very realistic character.” –I Heart Reading

Madison’s character is extremely well-written and realistic. She encompasses what all women should strive to become—an independent thinker, strong-willed, dedicated, and hardworking.” –Lynchberg Mama

Madison is an excellently crafted persona who isn’t flawless or ideal. She makes mistakes, she regrets making those mistakes, and tries her best to correct them.” –Fanna

Leels Loves Books Book Reviews

What We Bury is book ten in the Madison Knight series, but you can easily read this book without having read prior books in the series.

This Madison Knight story starts right off with the mystery that takes all kinds of twists and turns, leaving us guessing who done it, while Madison’s personal life is also taking several twists and turns.

The main mystery is a murder mystery of a Jane Doe. Jane Doe’s identity is not the only identity we are left trying to figure out and guess and Madison and her partner Terry, continue to work the case to solve this murder.

I have been reading the Madison Knight series since book seven, so I am a little more invested in Madison and Troy’s relationship than a new reader may or may not be! Each book has seen their relationship progress a little bit more and let me tell you, I found Madison to be a little naïve with her situation the entire beginning of the book. It was nice when I was proven correct, although the situation was not ideal.

On the side of her personal life, Madison is also dead set on weeding out the corrupt cops of Stiles Police Department which also involves the mob in Stiles – something that can be incredibly dangerous (um, hello, we’re talking about the mob!) It gives another mystery to follow along with on the side.

The ending gives us one last twist that hit very close to home, but adds fuel to the fire. It definitely makes me more intrigued for additional Madison Knight books. The fire is currently raging uncontrolled and the feelings behind it are going to make for amazing reads.

Carolyn’s books are always amazing. I love crime mysteries and Carolyn’s detail with police procedures make it so much more fun to read and work the case! As always, I thoroughly enjoyed What We Bury and cannot wait to see what Madison does next!

About the author
CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international best-selling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives just west of Toronto with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada.

Find the author on the following sites… 
Newsletter   Website   Facebook   Twitter    Google+   Pinterest   Goodreads   Amazon Author Page



Read more Madison Knight

In the Line of Duty
Power Struggle
Shades of Justice

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.